15-year-old Shafali earns maiden India call-up for South Africa series

India women squads for the ODI series and first three T20Is against South Africa have been named with 15-year-old batter Shafali Verma included in the squad for the shortest format.

India will take on South Africa in five T20Is from September 14 to October 4 with a squad of 15 named for the first three matches. The playing group includes Verma, who impressed in the Women’s T20 Challenger earlier this year for Velocity; she hit 34 off 31 in a win over Trailblazers that led to high praise from her teammate, England’s Danni Wyatt.

“Shafali is going to be a superstar for India probably in a year or so. I think she’ll break into India team,” said Wyatt.

The 20-over squad does not feature Mithali Raj, who announced her retirement from T20I cricket earlier this week. Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the side in their first international assignment since their T20I series against England in March. All of the T20Is will be played in Surat.

Raj remains India’s ODI skipper and will lead the side after the conclusion of the T20I series. All three ODIs will be played in Vadodara from October 9 to 14.

Squad for first three T20Is: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia (wicketkeeper), Poonam Yadav, Shikha Pandey, Arundhati Reddy, Pooja Vastrakar, Radha Yadav, Veda Krishnamurthy, Harleen Deol, Anuja Patil, Shafali Verma, Mansi Joshi

ODI squad: Mithali Raj (captain), Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur, Punam Raut, Smriti Mandhana, Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia (wicketkeeper), Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Mansi Joshi, Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, D Hemalatha, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Priya Punia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *